Current search

Filters

Total results: 126

WOBORNS ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse founded by William Woburn in 1476. It was demolished in 1860 .

GODS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Wynards Hospital, now Magdalen Almshouses, founded in 1436 for 12 poor men with a chaplain and a chapel of the Holy Trinity. It was not suppressed and was restored in 1863.

HOLLOWAYS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The almshouses were founded in 1724 by John Holloway for six poor women and were rebuilt in 1868 by William Wilkinson. The building is of one and a half storeys with a linear plan of six units. Construction is of coursed rubble.

SAINT ANNES BEDEHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An almshouse, built between 1847 and 1860 by A.W.N. Pugin, for R.W Sibthorp. The building was executed by G.Myers. The almshouse comprises a single storey range of 14 bedehouses, built to a P -shaped plan. They are constructed of brick with stone dressings and a plain tile roof. They are e...

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Bradford Tradesmens Homes were founded by public subscription in 1867, several of the priciple mill owners, Sir Titus Salt, Isaac Holden and S C Lister, were amongst the subscribers. The almshouses are arranged around a rectangular green, the south wing is a later addition of 1878. The Hig...

1-4 ROUS MEMORIAL COTTAGES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Four cottages, former almshouses, built in 1878.

ALL SAINTS CALLIS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses in Mill Lane extant 1612, rebuilt 1843 now demolished.

TURNERS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Trent 1846