Current search

Filters

Total results: 363

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

2 almshouses built in 1754 and founded by William Law. Altered during the 20th century. Extensions were added during these alterations.

HILL CHARITY ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Numbers 266 and 268 front the main road with 270 and 272 attached to the rear. 266 and 268 are 18th century, the left bay of 268 is early 19th century and 270 and 272 were built mid 19th century. They are of red brick and stucco with tiled roofs.

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, consisting of ten tenements forming an east and west terrace on the south side side of Church Street and a chapel at the east end. The range of tenements is two-storeyed, brick built, with a continuous tiled roof. Each tenement consists of a single room on either floor. Behind...

STRECHES ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses rebuilt 1741, probably on the site of an almshouse founded before 1418.

THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A house which was formerly six almshouses built in 1612 and altered in the early 19th century. Built of limestone and brick with a plain tile roof.

FITZWILLIAMS COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse probably built in 1602 when the charity was founded.

NINE HOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A row of six almshouses, built circa 1650, known as the Nine Houses - though only six remain today. They are constructed from stone-dressed brick, brick-nogged and plaster-panelled small framing, brick to the rear and grey slate roofs with six jettied front gables. In the 1960s the almshou...

HOLLOWAYS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The almshouses were founded in 1724 by John Holloway for six poor women and were rebuilt in 1868 by William Wilkinson. The building is of one and a half storeys with a linear plan of six units. Construction is of coursed rubble.

WILLIAMSONS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A stone rubble building of single-storey and semi-attics under a stone roof, built in the early 17th century. A seperate two-storey building, perhaps lodgings associated with the almshouse, was added in the mid 18th century. Converted into a house in the 20th century.