Current search

Filters

Total results: 102

WILLIAMSONS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A stone rubble building of single-storey and semi-attics under a stone roof, built in the early 17th century. A seperate two-storey building, perhaps lodgings associated with the almshouse, was added in the mid 18th century. Converted into a house in the 20th century.

1 AND 2 THE CLOISTERS AND CHURCH HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Exeter Cathedral cloisters are thought to have been part of the design of Bishop Quivil (circa 1280 AD), although probably not completed until many years after his death. Bishop Brantingham (circa1370) and Bishop Stafford are supposed to have been responsible for their building. Nos 1 and...

1-4 ROUS MEMORIAL COTTAGES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Four cottages, former almshouses, built in 1878.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Row of almshouses built in 1676 with 19th and 20th century restoration and additions; numbers 76 and 78 are 19th century reproductions. The almshouses are of two storeys constructed from red brick with some blue headers in English bond. The roofs are tiled roofs with tall chimneys. A resto...

44-47 THE BROADWAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

This range of brick-built one and a half storey cottages incorporates the truss of an earlier timber framed building in its south gable wall. These cottages were probably built in the C16 and encased in brick, probably in 1785. The present row of cottages is a series of one cell units. Pro...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of Almshouse, Churchend Road

THE SCHOOL HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former school and almshouses, now converted to dwellings. Founded in 1732 the school was in use until 1959 and the almshouses were converted in 1959-60.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Brabins Cottages F.Y Almshouses - founded 1684

ALMSHOUSE, WESTBURY ON TRYM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Finds & archive to be transferred to Bristol City Museums. Bristol SMR No: 4858.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Range of almshouses; now a single dwelling. Dated 1730; mid-19th and 20th century alterations. For the Company of Merchant Taylors. Exterior: 1-storey 8-window front. 3-panel door at right end, approached by stone steps. Left end altered and linked to Merchant Taylors Hall.