Current search

Filters

Total results: 39

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of an almshouse, built in 1652, on the site of a Medieval lazar house and demolished in 1833. In 1333 protection was granted to leprous men collecting alms. The hospital was built for male and female lepers, and was used by the poor in the 16th century, after which it became an almsho...

HOSPITAL OF ST JAMES AND ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Leper hospital founded before 1118. Dissolved in 1442 when it was refounded as an almshouse which was dissolved in 1621. It was demolished in 1781. Some stonework may be incorporated in a cottage which was built on the site.

ST JULIANS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital for sick and leprous brothers founded by Abbot Geoffrey between 1119-46. It was still called a hospital for lepers and sick persons in 1470, but it is doubtful that there were lepers or sick thereafter. Laymen apparently intruded themselves from 1492, and in 1505 it was annexed by...

ST MARY MAGDALENS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Leper hospital extant in 1232, suppressed at the Dissolution and refounded as almshouses.

SPITAL HOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses built in 1704 on the site of a Medieval leper hospital and hospital for the poor. This was extant in 1256 and survived the suppression. Single storey L-shaped building houses 9 separate dwellings of one room with kitchen at the rear.

ST LAWRENCES HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Leper hospital extant in 1456. In 1609, it was recorded as an almshouse.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARGARET AND ST SEPULCHRE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The site of a small medieval hospital founded circa 1150. Originally founded as a leper hospital under Gloucester Abbey, in 1350 it was run by the townspeople, and with the decline of leprosy was for almsfolk in 1518. It was not suppressed and remained an almshouse after the Dissolution. T...

HOSPITAL OF THE HOLY GHOST AND ST MARGARET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital of the Holy Ghost and St. Margaret, was founded for lepers in 1185. It was rebuilt in the early 16th century and converted into almshouses in 1612. The chapel was destroyed in 1549. The almshouses continued in use until 1938, and are now the council offices.