Current search

Filters

Total results: 19

THE SCHOOL HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former school and almshouses, now converted to dwellings. Founded in 1732 the school was in use until 1959 and the almshouses were converted in 1959-60.

KINGS SCHOOL (EASTERN BLOCK)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former almshouses dated 1724, now school rooms.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses and school of 1705.

ELKINGTON HOUSE AND SHERRIER HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

C19th School; C18/19th - former almshouses founded AD 1604 on site of earlier cottage

THE CLOSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The rear part of the building (now two dwellings) was originally an almshouse, rebuilt in 1816. Attached to this at right angles, is the former village school, constructed after 1847.

GILLINGHAMS ALMSHOUSES AND SCHOOL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1698

CHAPEL OF ST JOHN THE DIVINE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses founded in 1500 by the Earl of Derby. The associated chantry chapel, dedicated to St John the Divine, either escaped suppression or was refounded soon after suppression. The chapel, refounded as a domestic chapel, is in regular use. A school is also attached to the almshouses.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, including a chapel and school, founded in 1694. Totally demolished circa 1880. A small portion of the surrounding garden wall is all that remains.

THE POINT IN VIEW

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A non-Conformist Chapel constructed in 1811. It is surrounded by one storey almshouses. One room, now the vestry, was established as a school for six poor female children

BISHOPS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse and schoolrooms, built in 1668, now in use as a restaurant and office. Built on the site of grammar school, founded 1414, refounded in 1541 and burnt down by the Scots in 1640.