Current search

Filters

Total results: 121

NINE HOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A row of six almshouses, built circa 1650, known as the Nine Houses - though only six remain today. They are constructed from stone-dressed brick, brick-nogged and plaster-panelled small framing, brick to the rear and grey slate roofs with six jettied front gables. In the 1960s the almshou...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A multi-period site with evidence for a Neolithic unenclosed settlement, Early Medieval to Medieval buildings and a 17th century almshouse (demolished in1950). A Bronze Age barbed and tanged arrowhead was also found.

PARSONS ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built in 1960, to the rear of Stones Almshouse. The building is a rectangular block with two-storeys and ten bays.

44-47 THE BROADWAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

This range of brick-built one and a half storey cottages incorporates the truss of an earlier timber framed building in its south gable wall. These cottages were probably built in the C16 and encased in brick, probably in 1785. The present row of cottages is a series of one cell units. Pro...

COOKES ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Eight almshouses, founded in 1693 and restored in 1860 with some mid-20th century alterations. Of two storeys.

THE SCHOOL HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former school and almshouses, now converted to dwellings. Founded in 1732 the school was in use until 1959 and the almshouses were converted in 1959-60.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses originally built in 1605, moved to their present site in 1795 and renovated in 1968. 2 storeys, 3-bay slightly-projecting centre and 8-bay wings. Entrances to 3rd, 7th, 10th, 13th and 17th bays are six panel doors with overlights, that to 10th has hood on consoles.

THE MARY DUNCAN ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The almshouse lies to the rear of Stones Almshouse and parallel to Parsons Almshouse. It was built in 1964. The building is of two-storeys and rectangular in plan.

HAYWARDS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An almshouse of 1823, built by the trustees of Sir John Hayward. It is a single block of three storeys and underwent modernisation in 1961. It currently houses eight people.

CHAPEL OF OUR LADY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A bridge chapel built in 1483 from deeply-coursed sandstone ashlar. It is a small gable-entry building set on the north side of Rotherham Bridge comprising a single-storey with an undercroft. The building was used as an almshouse before serving as a town jail in 1779. It was then used as a...