Current search

Filters

Total results: 181

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

2 almshouses built in 1754 and founded by William Law. Altered during the 20th century. Extensions were added during these alterations.

HILL CHARITY ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Numbers 266 and 268 front the main road with 270 and 272 attached to the rear. 266 and 268 are 18th century, the left bay of 268 is early 19th century and 270 and 272 were built mid 19th century. They are of red brick and stucco with tiled roofs.

THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses, consisting of ten tenements forming an east and west terrace on the south side side of Church Street and a chapel at the east end. The range of tenements is two-storeyed, brick built, with a continuous tiled roof. Each tenement consists of a single room on either floor. Behind...

STRECHES ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses rebuilt 1741, probably on the site of an almshouse founded before 1418.

THE ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A house which was formerly six almshouses built in 1612 and altered in the early 19th century. Built of limestone and brick with a plain tile roof.

HOLLOWAYS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The almshouses were founded in 1724 by John Holloway for six poor women and were rebuilt in 1868 by William Wilkinson. The building is of one and a half storeys with a linear plan of six units. Construction is of coursed rubble.

WILLIAMSONS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A stone rubble building of single-storey and semi-attics under a stone roof, built in the early 17th century. A seperate two-storey building, perhaps lodgings associated with the almshouse, was added in the mid 18th century. Converted into a house in the 20th century.

9-10 TRINITY CHARE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A block of almshouses built in 1820, the building conatined four dwellings, two on each floor. The two-storey building is built of brick.

1 AND 2 THE CLOISTERS AND CHURCH HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Exeter Cathedral cloisters are thought to have been part of the design of Bishop Quivil (circa 1280 AD), although probably not completed until many years after his death. Bishop Brantingham (circa1370) and Bishop Stafford are supposed to have been responsible for their building. Nos 1 and...

44-47 THE BROADWAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

This range of brick-built one and a half storey cottages incorporates the truss of an earlier timber framed building in its south gable wall. These cottages were probably built in the C16 and encased in brick, probably in 1785. The present row of cottages is a series of one cell units. Pro...