Current search

Filters

Total results: 21

HOLLOWAYS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The almshouses were founded in 1724 by John Holloway for six poor women and were rebuilt in 1868 by William Wilkinson. The building is of one and a half storeys with a linear plan of six units. Construction is of coursed rubble.

CHAPEL OF OUR LADY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A bridge chapel built in 1483 from deeply-coursed sandstone ashlar. It is a small gable-entry building set on the north side of Rotherham Bridge comprising a single-storey with an undercroft. The building was used as an almshouse before serving as a town jail in 1779. It was then used as a...

WOODGREEN COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Woodgreen Cottage is a former poor house and a deed of sale by the Depwade Union in 1850 is kept at the property. The building is of two storeys, with an attic, it is a plasterd, timber framed building on a brick plinth, with a pantile roof. There is a rebuilt stack just short of the west...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Hospital of St Mary, or Maison Dieu, which now forms part of the town hall buildings. Founded early 13th century by Hubert de Burgh and dissolved in 1544. During the 13th century the Maison Dieu Hall was added to the Maison Dieu for the maintenance of the of the poor and infirm. This h...

SEAMENS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital founded 1675-6 for distressed sailors and their families, converted to almshouses in the 18th century. The surviving building is of late 17th-early 18th century date, with mid-late 18th century and 1842 alterations. The 1842 alterations are in in Jacobean style and are by (Sir Geo...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse and schoolroom with a school masters house attached to the rear, established by the will of Dorothy Wilson who died in 1719. The almshouse was to provide for 10 poor women and was original housed in Dorothy Wilsons house which stood on this site, it was rebuilt as an almshouse in...

THE CLOSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The rear part of the building (now two dwellings) was originally an almshouse, rebuilt in 1816. Attached to this at right angles, is the former village school, constructed after 1847.

HOPKINS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

CHAMBERLAINE ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses rebuilt in 1840.

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND ST ANNE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused chapel, 15th century with 16th century alterations. It was the chapel of the hospital for the poor founded in 1398; refounded in 1597 and dissolved after 1752. Th rest of the hospital buildings were demolished in 1845.