Current search

Filters

Total results: 200

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

WOBORNS ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse founded by William Woburn in 1476. It was demolished in 1860 .

STRECHES ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses rebuilt 1741, probably on the site of an almshouse founded before 1418.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse extant in 1483.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A Maison Dieu was founded at All Saints Church in North Street in circa 1380.

LONG ALLEY ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Erected by the Fraternity of the Holy Cross in 1446. Comprises a row of 13 single storey dwellings with early and late 17th century additions. In 1553, Christs Hospital was created by royal charter and the governors were given enlarged powers to help the poor.

1 AND 2 THE CLOISTERS AND CHURCH HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Exeter Cathedral cloisters are thought to have been part of the design of Bishop Quivil (circa 1280 AD), although probably not completed until many years after his death. Bishop Brantingham (circa1370) and Bishop Stafford are supposed to have been responsible for their building. Nos 1 and...

SHERBURN HOSPITAL CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Originally built as a leper hospital founded in 1181 by Bishop Pudsey, and not suppressed. The church was the hospital chapel, the nave was built circa 1181 with early 13th century tower and chancel. The north aisle was added in 1868 by Austin and Johnson. Built from sqared and dressed san...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An almshouse is documented by Wallgate in 1526.

ST CLEMENTS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The prior of this hospital was given permission to seek alms in 1345. There are no other references.