Current search

Filters

Total results: 251

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

WOBORNS ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse founded by William Woburn in 1476. It was demolished in 1860 .

STRECHES ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouses rebuilt 1741, probably on the site of an almshouse founded before 1418.

GODS HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Wynards Hospital, now Magdalen Almshouses, founded in 1436 for 12 poor men with a chaplain and a chapel of the Holy Trinity. It was not suppressed and was restored in 1863.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Almshouse extant in 1483.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A Maison Dieu was founded at All Saints Church in North Street in circa 1380.

LONG ALLEY ALMSHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Erected by the Fraternity of the Holy Cross in 1446. Comprises a row of 13 single storey dwellings with early and late 17th century additions. In 1553, Christs Hospital was created by royal charter and the governors were given enlarged powers to help the poor.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The chantry chapel at Wollaton had an income of #5 16s 2d in 1474, of which 3# 10s and 6d was distributed to `bedefolk, the remainder was for the priest. This suggests an almshouse in the vicinity of the chantry.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An almshouse is documented by Wallgate in 1526.

BEDFORTHS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

John Bedforth (or Bedford), Mayor of Hull, founded a chantry in Holy Trinity Church, the revenue from which may have provided for the upkeep of a hospital he founded in 1412. Nothing further is known.