Current search

Filters

Total results: 20

KINGSTON UPON HULL AUSTIN FRIARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Augustinian Friary, founded 1304, dissolved 1539. About 1796, what little remained of the Friary was demolished, and one range of buildings was converted into the Tiger Inn. The Guildhall demolished in 1806 contained some parts. Excavations in 1994 revealed the plan of the church and clois...

GODSTOW ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Benedictine Nunnery founded circa 1133 dissolved 1539 surviving as the ruins of a 16th century chapel and enclosure with part of wall. Partly excavated, although no details of the layout had been revealed. Stone coffins have been discovered. Descriptions of the buildings shortly after the...

ST BRANNOCKS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

12th-13th and 19th century church on the site of an Early Medieval church and monastery. There was a priest in Braunton by 857 when the estate was called Brannocminster. A monastery was in existence around the church circa 550, founded by St Brannoc. Both William of Worcester (about 1450)...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The buried and earthwork remains of an Augustinian priory founded in the 1130s by William Paynel and dissolved in 1535. The priory is recorded as having a church, cloister, infirmary, refectory, priors chamber and dormitory in 13th century documents. Drainage works have converted the marsh...

CASTLE HILLS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as the Hillings. Ringwork and bailey with partly underlying Saxon cemetery and settlement identified from excavations. A large horse-shoe ditch enclosing on the river side two sub-rectangular wards. Excavated 1949/50. In the northern ward were found at least 40 Saxon burials (as...

NORTH ORMSBY PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Marys medieval Gilbertine priory was founded as a double house between 1148 and 1154 and dissolved in 1538. The remains of the gatehouse, church, cloister, buildings, infirmary and precinct boundaries are visible as earthworks.

TARRANT ABBEY HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Anchoresses cell or lost nunnery of `Camestrum circa 1186 later became Cistercian nunnery founded before 1228 and dissolved 1539. Earthworks of precinct boundary. The succeeding 16th and 18th century house probably incorporates former abbey. Late 15th century Tithe Barn

OWSTON ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Augustinian Abbey founded pre-1161, dissolved 1536. Former abbey church incorporated in present parish church. Buried foundations of associated buildings including gatehouse demolished late 18th century. Six earthwork fishponds and a boundary. The remains of the abbey buildings are located...

NORTH STOKE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Settlement earthworks in Stoke Rochford Park. The settlement was documented in Domesday Book and was occupied until the 19th century when it was moved to make way for further development of the park. Excavations have revealed the possible remains of the manor house and church. Three fragme...

WIGMORE ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An Abbey for Augustinian Canons was founded in 1179 at Wigmore. The original foundation, of a prior and two canons from St Victor at Paris, was at Shobdon (SO 46 SW5) but they moved to several sites in the vicinity of Wigmore before finally settling at Wigmore. Between 1131 and 1179, they...