Current search

Filters

Total results: 9

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Formerly the Chapel of St Michael de Monte. Earlier writers believed the Tower to have been of greater antiquity, built c.1550, than it is. John Aislabie built the tower as part of the first phase of the garden at Studley Park, circa 1718-23 to be seen from the garden rather than to provid...

Possible road alignment, Tatton Park

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

{1} A vague linear bank is possibly a medieval lane. Barely perceptible. The feature does not correspond with any post-medieval features on early maps and may therefore be of medieval origin. May be lane extending northwards from Tatton village.It extends across survey area from west to ea...

COLLYWESTON HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Earthworks, garden terraces, two fishponds and park boundary banks. The visible remains of Collyweston House (built 1412-1441) and its park, demolished and dispersed in 1720.

HARTLEY CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Ruins of a medieval fortified house, built as a tower house circa 1353 and extended circa 1600. The house was partly demolished 1704-35 and the present house was built on the site of the outer court incorporating some fragments. Today, only the barrel vau

OS Field Parcel 2574/3

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Partly collapsed drystone wall orientated N-S, up to 1.4m high, made sound by modern barbed wire fence. Estate boundary. Marked on 1787 Melkridge Township Enclosues Act Map (NRO 309/m.89).

Boundary between House Field & Oast Field, Wickham Manor

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

History of the Site: This boundary was inserted to subdivide New Gate Field (now House Field and Oast Field) between 1799 and 1845.Description: Post-and-wire-netting fence with associated hawthorn hedge, dense but with some large gaps along its length. No associated earthwork (Martin, D. 1...

S face - Section 2

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

At NY73266717 the Wall widens to on average 1m wide and is built as double thickness drystone wall with large Whin Stone cambs. The line of the S face of Hadrians Wall is preserved and up to 3 Roman courses can be seen along this length, but no hard mortar is visible.

JARROW PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Remains of an Anglo-Saxon and Mediaeval monastery, founded in 681 AD by St Benedict Biscop and King Egfrid of Northumbria. The Reverend Bede died there in 735. It was raided by the Vikings in 794 and in about 870 it was abandoned after being destroyed by fire. Bedes remains were transporte...

High Park cross-dyke and associated features

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The cross dyke lies orientated NNW-SSE crossing a broad roughly E-W ridge, ending on the edge of a steep sided gulley in the S and a somewhat more shallow gulley in the N. The earthwork is cut by a modern field boundary 130m from its N end, the portion to the N being within enclosed sheep...