Current search

Filters

Total results: 58

KINGSTON UPON HULL AUSTIN FRIARY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Augustinian Friary, founded 1304, dissolved 1539. About 1796, what little remained of the Friary was demolished, and one range of buildings was converted into the Tiger Inn. The Guildhall demolished in 1806 contained some parts. Excavations in 1994 revealed the plan of the church and clois...

GODSTOW ABBEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Benedictine Nunnery founded circa 1133 dissolved 1539 surviving as the ruins of a 16th century chapel and enclosure with part of wall. Partly excavated, although no details of the layout had been revealed. Stone coffins have been discovered. Descriptions of the buildings shortly after the...

WORMLEIGHTON

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The buried and earthwork remains of the medieval settlement of Wormleighton, including the remains of the moated site of the manor house, tofts, crofts, house platforms and allotments of the medieval village, with its associated hollow ways, field boundaries, enclosures, and medieval ridge...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Excavations have located a range of features including Roman ditches and road, an early Medieval boundary and Medieval buildings including the Almonry Chapel constructed c. 1324-8.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Excavations near Bonhunt Farm have located a settlement occupied mainly in the Middle Saxon period (6th-early 7th centuries), the site reoccupied in the Saxo-Norman period. At least 24 buildings were asigned to the Middle saxon period, 3 to the Saxo-Norman period. The mid saxon phase also...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Formerly the Chapel of St Michael de Monte. Earlier writers believed the Tower to have been of greater antiquity, built c.1550, than it is. John Aislabie built the tower as part of the first phase of the garden at Studley Park, circa 1718-23 to be seen from the garden rather than to provid...

TATTON

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The medieval settlement remains of the village of Tatton situated in the park of Tatton Hall. The settlement is mentioned in Domesday but had substantially declined by the late 14th century. Part of the site of this village was fully excavated between 1979 and 1985 revealing that the site...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The buried and earthwork remains of an Augustinian priory founded in the 1130s by William Paynel and dissolved in 1535. The priory is recorded as having a church, cloister, infirmary, refectory, priors chamber and dormitory in 13th century documents. Drainage works have converted the marsh...

ST CATHERINES CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The site of a medieval chapel situated within the boundary of the Iron Age hillfort on St Catherines Hill. The later reuse of St Catherines Hill hillfort was revealed during part excavations of the site in 1927 and 1928 when the excavations uncovered a Norman style chapel built at the summ...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval pottery production site was identified when a pit containing pottery wasters was noted during construction of the Colchester Northern By-pass at Mile End in 1973. Subsequent excavations revealed four flat-bottomed pits, 2 metres in diameter and between 0.6 metres and 0.8 metres in...