Current search

Filters

Total results: 662

ST MARTINS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The tower can be dated to the 15th century, the rest of the church was rebuilt in 1830, remodelled during the late 19th century. The tower is virtually complete and unaltered. There appears to be a lan in the churchyard. `Parochia Sancti Dydmini is named in 1327, and `St Martin alias Didem...

CHAPEL OF ST FRANCIS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Situated between the Cock and Hen Hills, it was extant circa 1300 but destroyed in the 16th century. Several skeletons have been noted in the area.

CHURCH OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Parish church. Perpendicular, extensively restored. There is a 14th century window in the vestry and the south aisle is 15th-16th century. The present tower is modern but the earlier one was apparently 13th century. Two axe- dressed stones near the tower indicate the possibility of an earl...

CHRISTCHURCH PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A pre-Conquest monastery and associated early Christian cemetery and a later Augustinian priory situated between the estuaries of the Rivers Avon and Stour at Christchurch. The pre-Conquest monastery was associated with the Saxon burh known as Twynham. Documentary sources suggest that a ch...

ST LEONARDS HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Founded circa 1220, and annexed to Tynemouth Priory during the 14th century. Dissolved in 1536. Excavations have located the plan of the building and the cemetery.

CHAPEL OF ST NICHOLAS OR CHAPEL OF ST MARGARET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

In the village of Lane (St Just Lane) was an ancient chapel, with a burying ground, which was converted into a dwelling house and finally burned down. This was possibly either the chapel of St Nicholas or St Margaret for which the Rector had licence in 1391. It is still remembered as the C...

Excavations at St Peters Church, Barton-upon-Humber

Type: Fieldwork archives Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Peters Church at Barton-upon-Humber (TA 0347 2194) was declared redundant in 1972 and taken into public guardianship in 1978 by the then Department of Environment. Given that it had long been recognised that it had a late Saxon origin, a major programme of excavation and survey was inst...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A Gilbertine Priory founded circa 1200 by Hugh Murdac, Archdeacon of Cleveland, and dissolved in 1538. Only part of the precinct wall remains. Excavations have most of the plan, excepting the claustral West range which has been totally destroyed. The cloister was arranged to the North of t...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Mid-late Saxon pits and a late Saxon/early Norman cemetery were identified during excavations in 1977 in advance of construction of public gardens at the junction of Church Lane and St Radigunds Street.

ST ALBANS CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The chapel, or chantry, with its burial ground, stood at the junction of Fisher Street and Scotch Street. Until 1356 it remained unconsecrated. By 1378 it was endowed with at least one chantry, for the provision of which a priest lived in a room over the