Current search

Filters

Total results: 179

Wreighburn House Hospital of St James

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Click for descriptionSite status:

Westovers and attached wall, West End (South side), Wedmore

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Grade II listed building.

PEEBLES, OLD TOWN, HAY LODGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Alternative name(s): HAY LODGE HOSPITAL AND HEALTH CENTRE

STIRLING, 82 SPITTAL STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

No description

UPPER HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Upper Hall was formerly the residence of the Lay Vicars of Ledbury Church. There is some evidence for a large medieval building in the massive stone walls exposed mainly at cellar level but in places above. The earliest part of the present building is the eastern half of the south-western...

HOSPITAL OF ST MARY MAGDALENE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Lazar House and remains of Leper Hospital of St Mary Magdalen founded pre 1119 and dissolved in 1547. After the Dissolution, the buildings were used as a barn and cottages.The remains of the chapel are contained in the north wing of the L-shaped building known as Lazar House. The original...

BECKINGTON GRANGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former Hospital of Augustinian Canons, now known as the Abbey. It now consists of three dwellings known as Beckington Grange, was built originally as the Hospital of the Augustinian Canons, founded here in 1502. The shell is 16th century, but the building was remodelled in 1620.

BRIXTON PRISON

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1819 half-octagon prison by Chawner with octagonal governors house in centre. The building was converted to a female prison in 1853 and became military prison in 1878. Returned to civilian use in 1897 with various additions in the 20th century.

ELGIN, HIGH STREET, MARYHILL HOUSE (HEALTH BOARD OFFICE)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Alternative name(s): MARYHILL HOSPITAL; OLD MILLS ROAD

HOUSESTEADS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Excavation on ditch an inconclusive attempt to relate the fort to Hadrians Wall. National Trust Project Reference No.: 157