Current search

Filters

Total results: 38

UPPER HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Upper Hall was formerly the residence of the Lay Vicars of Ledbury Church. There is some evidence for a large medieval building in the massive stone walls exposed mainly at cellar level but in places above. The earliest part of the present building is the eastern half of the south-western...

BRIXTON PRISON

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1819 half-octagon prison by Chawner with octagonal governors house in centre. The building was converted to a female prison in 1853 and became military prison in 1878. Returned to civilian use in 1897 with various additions in the 20th century.

MAULDETH HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early fireproofed villa designed for Joseph Chessborough Dyer between 1832 and 1840. Converted into a hospital between 1880 and 1882 by the architect Charles Heathcote.

UFFCULME HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House, now hospital, built in 1891 by William Jenkins for Richard Cadbury. It is constructed from red brick with Portland stone dressings and slate roofs. The large house is divided by a full-height central hall with an oriel at the north front and a semi-circular conservatory at the other...

THE ROYAL GUNPOWDER FACTORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Two-storey, brick hospital built in 1894 used as a short-stay surgery for injured workmen at the factory. MOD Building No.H26.

LITTLE PLUMSTEAD HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Mental deficiency colony established in the grounds of Plumstead Hall (1889) in 1929. New buildings were designed by G G Smith between 1928 and 1932. Another four villas were built in 1934, staff houses in 1937 and a colony hospital in 1938.

ASTLEY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House, now part of hospital. Recut stone above entrance reads erected by Adam Mort and Margaret Mort 1650 but with extensive additions to rear in the early and late 19th century. Rendered brick and brick with stone dressings.

MAYVILLE HIGH SCHOOL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former South Coast Medical, Surgical and Convalescent Home for Women, which moved to this two-storey, red brick house in 1891. It is now used as a school.

CLARE HALL MANOR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House built circa 1754, incorporating an existing early 17th century range, by Thomas Roberts. The house was enlarged between 1797-1842 and again mid 19th century. It became a convent in 1886 and then a hospital from 1896 to circa 1976.

PEEL HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House of 1845, now a hospital.