Current search

Filters

Total results: 23

LOVEKYNS CHANTRY CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

There was an old hospital for the poor to which a chantry chapel founded by Edward Lovekyn in 1309, formed an adjunct. Partly rebuilt in 1352 and much renewed in 1886. In 1561 it became part of Queen Elizabeths Grammar School and is now part of Tiffin School. It is a plain rectangular buil...

WINDSOR CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The castle was originally constructed as a motte and bailey, by William the Conqueror during the 1070s-80s, as part of a chain of defences designed to protect London. It comprises a motte with a large bailey on either side. Henry I used the castle as a royal residence and it became a palac...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital, founded 1301, rebuilt in 1359 as secular college and collegiate chapel and later became a chantry. The endowment for the college was too small, and after 1379 no further documentation relating to it exists. It was probably in ruins by 1496.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A fragment of Mediaeval cross slab with a depiction of the lower part of a calvary was found behind Kennings Garage at the junction of York Road and Sprotborough Road. This type of slab is important because it is a type always located within the body of a church or chapel. Documentary evid...

FRIARSIDE CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The lesser hospice of Friarside founded before 1312 dissolved probably in the 15th century. Usually called a hospital, but sometimes a chapel or chantry. The roofless remains consist of a chapel 6 m wide and 9.7 m long with a later building, 6 m wide and 5 m long, at the west end. The east...

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital of St John The Baptist 1232 - 1540, and Chapel of St Leonard. Early 13th century - 1536

MILTON CHANTRY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Chantry chapel, all that remains of the leper hospital of Milton which was founded by 1155, and refounded by Aymer de Valence, Earl of Pembroke in 1321. It became a chantry in 1524. The chantry is a long, rectangular, stone-walled building which still retains its original 14th century arch...

SPITAL ALMSHOUSE AND CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The hospital Spittal in the Street, built in 1396 for a warden and poor persons, was connected with the chantry chapel of St. Edmund, founded in 1343. The chantry was already known as the chapel of St. Edmund, Spittal of the Street, although there is apparently no documentary evidence of a...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hospital, founded 1301, rebuilt in 1359 as secular college and collegiate chapel and later became a chantry. The endowment for the college was too small, and after 1379 no further documentation relating to it exists. It was probably in ruins by 1496.

HOSPITAL OF HAUTBOIS, AND CHAPEL OF ST MARY DE ALTO BOSCO

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early 13th century foundation, a chapel being licenced there in 1257. In 1535, only the Chapel of St Mary de Bosco is documented, and as a chantry chapel, the inference being that the hospital had by then ceased to function.