Current search

Filters

Total results: 32

COURT HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former conventual building, part of the Hospital of St. John, thought to date to the late 12th century and purchased by the Corporation in 1580; much altered circa 1623, when it was converted to a court house. The building has been used for council meetings by the Old Corporation since 161...

LOVEKYNS CHANTRY CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

There was an old hospital for the poor to which a chantry chapel founded by Edward Lovekyn in 1309, formed an adjunct. Partly rebuilt in 1352 and much renewed in 1886. In 1561 it became part of Queen Elizabeths Grammar School and is now part of Tiffin School. It is a plain rectangular buil...

BRAMSHOTT PLACE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of 16th century Manor House. The gatehouse was c.1575. Replaced by the Bramshott Place Sanatorium, later King Georges Hospital, c1909-37. Now in use as offices.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Jesus Hospital And Free School (Fd 1561) extant c 1808 (site of)

ST LAURENCES HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Leper hospital first documented in 1302. Although suppressed in 1546, it was refounded an re-endowed in 1582 and was used until 1805. In the 18th century the lazar house is described as being attached to a chapel with two aisles, a prison and dungeon, a grist mill and 7 dwellings. In the 1...

ROYAL GARRISON CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church forming part of Domus Dei (Gods house), a hospital for physical as well as spiritual needs, founded in 1212 and managed by the monks of Southwick Priory. It consisted of a large hall with aisles which were divided into bays for the patients, linked to the chapel at the east end. Fol...

MANOR FARMHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Manor Farmhouse may include the 14th century St. Audoens Hospital and Chapel, which was transferred to Monkton Farley Priory in 1267. Alternatively the 14th century buildings may be the remains of a manor house, which was replaced by the 15th century South Wraxall Manor. It was converted i...

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Now Chapel Court. The earliest hospital on the site was a small unendowed establishment founded about the end of the 11th century. It ceased to exist during the 12th century and was superseded by the hospital erected by Bishop Robert between 1136 and 1166. This was known as the Lepers Hosp...

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST AND ST ANNE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused chapel, 15th century with 16th century alterations. It was the chapel of the hospital for the poor founded in 1398; refounded in 1597 and dissolved after 1752. Th rest of the hospital buildings were demolished in 1845.

THE MANOR HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Late 16th century manor house, timber-framed, much restored and now two houses. It was built on the site of a Medieval sick house belonging to the Abbey of Evesham.