Current search

Filters

Total results: 979

ROMDEN HALL HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farmhouse possibly built in the first half of the 15th century. Wealden house devastated by the October storm of 1987.

TOTTENHAM HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Great house built in 1825 by Thomas Cundy II for Charles Brudenell Bruce, Marquess of Ailesbury. It is built on the site of two earlier houses, first of 1573-5 by Sir John Thynne, the second a brick mansion of 1781 by Richard Boyle, Lord Burlington, for his brother in law, Charles Bruce, p...

ROCK MILL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Water powered fulling mill, recorded in 1738. The mill was used for a variety of purposes after 1850, and was demolished circa 1897. The site of the mill is now a lawn but the stone revetment with spillway and sluices to the north is still visible. To the north of the site of the mill is t...

HEATHCOTES LACE FACTORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

John Heathcoats Lace Factory, originally a cotton mill was erected in 1792 and destroyed by fire in 1836. It was taken over by Heathcoat in 1816 who introduced the first machine-made lace in the country. The two gateway lodges were probably built soon after 1816 and appear to be the only o...

RYE HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of a 15th century fortified manor house. The gatehouse, moat, two stretches of walling and two chimneys survive. The house was built circa 1443 and in 1683 was the scene of the Rye House Plot to murder Charles II. It had been converted for use as the parish workhouse by 1834. Circa 18...

WEALD HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House constructed circa 1540-50 with additions of circa 1560-70. Alterations were carried out during the 18th century. The house was demolished in 1950-51.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Josephs Roman Catholic School. Built in 1862 and enlarged in 1872, 1891 and 1897. Some buildings have been demolished and replaced by modern classrooms.

COUNTY GAOL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built between 1824 and 1827 by Christopher Hodgson. The Hospital wing, now offices, and the gaol wall on Borough Street survive.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A single fronted 2 storey house of late 18th or early 19th century date. The house was originally at the end of a range of houses destroyed at some point after 1925.

ST CHADS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

One of a series of churches paid for by the Midland Railway Company, all designed by London rather than provincial architects. St Chads was designed by Henry Turner in 1881 in an Early English style. Demolished in 1995.