Current search

Filters

Total results: 744

Crickadarn Church (St Mary)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The church of St Mary probably dates from the C14th, and comprises a large undivided nave and chancel with a western tower with a separate stair turret. Thechurch formerly housed a large rood screen and loft, similar to that at Llanfilo, which was removed in the latter half of the C19th. C...

Old Colwyn Church (St Catherine)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Parish church built 1837. (Hubbard, 1986)Part of Old Colwyn Church (qv).

Trefnant Church (Holy Trinity)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church 1853-5 by Sir Gilbert Scott. It commemorates Colonel and Mrs Salusbury of Galltfaenan Hall and was paid for by their two daughters. (Hubbard, 1986)Part of Trefnant Church (qv).

Erbistock Church (St Hilary)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

St Hilarys Church consists of nave aisles and chancel. It was entirely rebuilt in 1860. The list of rectors goes back to 1537.(smr,1996)

Llanarmon Mynydd-mawr Church (St Garmon), church

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Parish church with single chamber, rebuilt, or restored beyond recognition, by W.H. Spaull of Oswestry in 1886 (Hubbard, 1986).Part of Llanarmon Mynydd-mawr Church (St Garmon) (qv).

Llanelian-yn-Rhos Church (St Hilary or St Elian)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A double aisled church entirely perpendicular in date. There are painted panels on the chancel roof and the North wall of the North aisle is in good condition. (CAS 4/12/93)(SMR,1996)

Brecon Priory, Parish Church (Holy Rood)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

FULL DESCRIPTION NOT YET ENTERED. SEE NMR, 1973 PRO TEM (CHRM 25-8-88).Part of Brecon Priory (qv).

ST MARTIN ORGAR CHURCHYARD

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Meliden Church (St Melyd)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

CHURCH OF PROBABLE 6TH CENTURY ORIGIN BUT NOW RESTORED FROM 19TH CENT WITH FRAGMENTS REMAINING FROM 13TH 14TH AND 15TH CENTURIES.THERE ARE NO TRACES OF ANY EARLIER CHURCH.; (CAS 4/12/93)(SMR,1996)

Tretower Church (St John)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church, rebuilt in 1876-7 by J. L. Pearson for the Baileys of Glanusk. The old dedication was to St Michael, and the building was probably a chapel attachedto Tretower Castle. (Haslam, 1979)