Current search

Filters

Total results: 5,556

BARNSLEY COAL RAILWAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Barnsley Coal Railway (later part of the Stairfoot and Nostell Railway) opened in 1870 and closed in 1967, being dismantled.

HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN OF JERUSALEM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Remains of hospital founded before 1199 and granted to the Knights Hospitallers in 1214. A preceptory was established but it had ceased to exist by 1338. The main portion of the building dates from 13th century and was the Preceptory chapel, but was much altered 1755-6. Two-storeys and att...

LAMORBEY PARK

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early 19th century pleasure grounds and early 20th century gardens set in a landscape park. The site is situated in the south-west part of the London Borough of Bexley, west of the town of Sidcup and covers an area of 57 hectares. The pleasure grounds comprise terraced lawns which were lai...

GLOUCESTER AND SHARPNESS CANAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The demands of increasing navigation, and the spread of canals in the West Midlands led to the passing of an Act in 1793 that authorized a canal to be built from Berkeley Pill to Gloucester. Work began on Gloucester Docks in 1794, and over the next few years 5.5 miles of canal were cut. Sh...

DITCH, Tatton Park

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

{1} SW-NE running bank with ditch on SE side; becomes simple SE facing scarp to SW; forms the boundary between the enclosures named as Barn Field and Walley Croft in 1733.{2} Part shown on Highams earthwork survey.Status: Scheduled Monument

BEMBRIDGE AND BRADING BRANCH RAILWAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Dismantled railway. The Bembridge-Brading Branch Railway was authorised in 1874 and opened in 1882. A ferry at Bembridge took passengers to and from Langston by Hayling Island, but the service closed in 1888. The line was closed to all traffic in 1953.