Current search

Filters

Total results: 2,193

BERNINI FOUNTAIN

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Late C17th fountain in the Water Terrace Gardens on the West Terrace, Blenheim Park. Presented to the first Duke of Marlborough in 1710. Restored in 1932 and sited in the lower Water Terrace Gardens by Achille Duchene.

HADSPEN HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Country house originally constructed between 1687 and 1699 with alterations dating to 1767-1791. The house was extended in 1828, 1886 and 1909. Construction is of Cary stone ashlar and Welsh slate.

FORDS FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Two-storey, brick-built, central chimney house of the later 17th century. The east part was rebuilt and extended circa 1900. Altered between 1920-1939.

POLTIMORE HOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Poltimore House was built in the late 16th century as the seat of the Bampfylde family. An L-shaped Tudor house now forms the rear and east ranges of a large mansion that has undergone considerable expansion, enclosing and ultimately almost completely filling an internal courtyard. The fro...

THE STABLES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House to the north of Rudge Hall.

RODWAY MANOR

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval manor house largely rebuilt circa 1520 by Sir Thomas Berkeley. It was altered after 1663. There are later additions and some restorations. The house is of three storeys built of Pennant rubble with freestone and a double-saddle modern pantile roof with coped verges and square bric...

THE INNER AND MIDDLE TEMPLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

In the second half of the 12th century the Knights Templar built a residence in the area of the present Temple and began work on the Round Church which still survives (see TQ 38 SW 1393). When the Knights were suppressed in 1312 their property passed to the Knights Hospitallers who leased...

DIP COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Cottage, possibly built as a pair in the late 17th century. It is timber framed and plastered with a thatched roof and is of one storey plus attic. The building originally comprised two open halls sharing a red brick stack with two hearths and lofts to each service end. The inserted floors...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Stone cross, originally a boundary marker of the lands of the de Mauley family of Mulgrave Castle (NZ 81 SW 4). The shaft and cross head are constructed from a single piece of sandstone. The east face is inscribed with the initials K, R, and E, and a sign resembling an I crossed at the top...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An early 18th century farmhouse, possibly a longhouse originally, alternatively rebuilt, on the site of a grange of Rievaulx Abbey. Hearth-passage plan, two storeys; two window main hoause with a two window, narrower, down house.