Current search

Filters

Total results: 53

Beech Mount, Beech Street, Liverpool

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

From the National Heritage List for England: SJ 3790 28/125 BEECH STREET (east side), L7 Nos. 1, 2, 3 and 4 Beech Mount. (Formerly listed as Nos. 1 to 4 Beech Mount (consec)) 14.3.75 G.V. II Terrace of 4 houses, dated 1861. Brick with stuccoed ground floor, slate roof.2 storeys, 3 bays to...

TRANSIT SHED, BRUNSWICK DOCK, TOXTETH PARK

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1. W. side of Brunswick Dock 2. Mc Carron, K. and Jarvis, A.1992 Give a Dock a Good Name? Birkenhead: NMGM and Countryside Limited pg. 18-20 Rees, P. 1991(2nd ed.) A Guide for Merseysides Industrial Past Liverpool: The North Western Society for Industrial Archaeology and History and Countr...

B. KERSHAWS LTD, LIVERPOOL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1. S. side Chapel Gardens 2. OS. 1st Edition 25 Liverpool Sheet 106. 10 Revised 1906 Published 1908 Buildings on site; not named 3. Field Observation B. Kershaws Ltd, 3 storey building of 2 bays, with inscriptions J.A.H. 1882 on one gable. One gable with triangular gable, one with Dutch ga...

Site of a chapel, Chapel Road, Hoose

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former site of a chapel, Chapel Road, Hoose. (1) The Primitive Methodists opened a chapel at Hoose in 1850. This was in 1874 acquired by the Congregationalists. (2) A building is shown on the site on the Tithe map of 1844. it appears to have been No. 53, two cottages owned by John Smith an...

Former site of Manor Lodge, Withens Lane

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The former site of Manor Lodge, Withens Lane. (1) Built by 1850, the land having been purchased in 1844, Manor Lodge was a large mid 19th century house. It was briefly used as a Ladies school in the 1870s, but reverted to a private residence shortly thereafter. In t1930 it became an elderl...

Site of Mill Randle Inn, Sefton Road, Litherland

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former site of Mill Randle Inn, Sefton Road, Litherland. (1) The 1769 Molyneux estate plan of Litherland and Linacre, records a building as No. 32, a messuage, outbuildings, garden and croft occupied by Edward Harrison. (2) The 1st edition 6 OS map of 1850 labels the building as Mill Randl...

Wallasey Old Rectory, Church Hill, Wallasey

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Wallasey Old Rectory, Church Hill, Wallasey, built in 1632. The building was renovated in the 1980s with a new extension added to the north. (1-2) The previous rectory had been a thatched building though had a brave parlour. This was replaced with a stone building by Dr Snell in 1632. The...

Former site of Liscard Hall

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Liscard Hall is first recorded on the Tithe map of 1841, as no. 72, owned and occupied by Sir John Tobin. (1-3) Earlier mapping, Bryants and Greenwoods maps of the early 19th century, show a structure in the vicinity of the house, though perhaps further to the south. No such structure is s...

Site of a Methodist Chapel and School, Milner Road, Heswall

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former site of a Methodist Chapel and School, Milner Road, Heswall. (1) The chapel was a Wesleyan chapel built in 1859 and closed in 1891. The road was previously known as Slack Road and the chapel as Gayton Chapel. The chapel and school are labelled on the 1st edition 25 OS map of 1870. T...

WORKSHOP, COBURG DOCKYARD, TOXTETH PARK

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1. S. of Brunswick Half Tide Basin 2. Ritchie-Noakes, N. 1984 Liverpools Historic Waterfront RCHM Supplementary Series: 7, London: HMSO pg.93 ‘During 1897-98 - the north quay of Brunswick Half Tide Basin was formally allocated to the dockyard and the shed there (built 1842) was fitted out...