Current search

Filters

Total results: 459

CHRISTCHURCH PRIORY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A pre-Conquest monastery and associated early Christian cemetery and a later Augustinian priory situated between the estuaries of the Rivers Avon and Stour at Christchurch. The pre-Conquest monastery was associated with the Saxon burh known as Twynham. Documentary sources suggest that a ch...

GOODRICH CASTLE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The ruined, earthwork and buried remains of Goodrich Castle, which rises from the sandstone bedrock of a promontory overlooking a crossing point on the River Wye. The quadrangular castle encloses an earlier tower keep and has an outer ward on its north and west sides. It has a substantial...

CHAPEL OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A medieval hospital at Whittlesford Bridge founded circa 1200, of which only the chapel remains. It is a notable example of 14th century architecture and overlies the remains of an earlier chapel. By 1337 it had become a free chapel but was supressed circa 1548 after which it was used as a...

BISHOP OTTER MEMORIAL COLLEGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A Church of England training college for male teachers built in 1849-50 and designed by J Butler. Built of coursed stone with slate roofs. The buildings show collegiate, monastic and and Franch Medieval influences. The south front has a cloister walk on the ground floor with unglazed openi...

BROADMOOR HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Broadmoor Clinical Lunatic Asylum was built in 1858-63 and was designed by Major-General Joshua Jebb, the architect of Pentonville Prison. Built as the State Criminal Asylum for England and Wales. Alterations and additions to the hospital in 1886-88, 1891, 1900, 1913 and the late 20th cent...

HMP PARKHURST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Built as a prison for juveniles in 1838, adjacent to Albany Cavalry Barracks and reusing some of its buildings. Four cell blocks with external first floor galleries were built along with various other prison buildings. The philosophy of imprisonment embodied in these types of blocks belong...

KINGS COLLEGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Kings College, previously called College of St Mark and St John was founded in 1840 and originally occupied Stanley House which stood in eleven acres of land. The college was the first teacher training college to be opened by the National Society for Promoting the Education of the Poor. St...

CHURCH OF ALL SAINTS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A former chapel now a church which was rebuilt in 1761. Additions were made in 1881. It is made from mixed red and calciferous sandstone rubble with red sandstone V-jointed quoins on chamfered plinth. It has a graduated greenslate roof with coped gables a

CLAYBURY HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Asylum built between 1888-93 to designs by G T Hine. Built in an echelon plan of red brick with terracotta dressings with a hipped slate roof. Each pavilion contained a combination of wards, day rooms, staff rooms and sanatary facilities.

FAIRFIELD HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former Three Counties Asylum, built circa 1856-1860 to designs by G F Jones. This was extended in 1868-72 and more substantially in 1877-82. Expanded again circa 1935-1938 and a new hospital was built 1939-45 to house the London Chest Hospital.