Current search

Filters

Total results: 120

ST ANDREWS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The church is of possible 12th century origin, the only certain feature of that date however being the tub font. The rest is 13th and 15th century, refitted in 1633, repaired in 1755 and restored 1936-8. Plan of nave with Western bell-turret, chancel with North chapel, now vestry, at right...

GAINSBOROUGH OLD HALL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Medieval timber framed house, probably built between 1464 and 1484 for Sir Thomas Burgh. The great hall forms the north range, with cross wings to either side and the east and west wings enclosing the other two sides of an open courtyard. The kitchen was originally separated from the main...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Following depopulation of Pattesley, the church was abandoned in the 16th century. The 14th century West wall of the church is incorporated into Pattesley House, (TF82SE33).

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Site of St Ethelredas church, demolished c.1600

ST BOTOLPHS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church was built around c1400

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The former abbey church of Buckland Abbey. It is built from rubble with granite dressings and is of late 13th-early 14th century date, of cruciform plan, aligned ENE-WSW. The most substantial remains are those of the towers over the crossing which forms the focal point of the later mansion...

ST ANDREWS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Church, 13/14thc (rems. of), 17thc church within the ruin

SOUTHAMPTON GREYFRIARS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Franciscan Friary founded in 1235, becoming Observant Franciscan in 1498, and dissolved in 1534. After the expulsion of the friars in 1534, it became an Augustinian Friary until dissolved in 1538. The Observants were back in Southampton in 1558. Excavations have located the aisleless conve...

ST MARYS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Early C12 cruciform church with Early English transepts, tower and chancel and C17 and C18 additions.

CHURCH OF ALL SAINTS

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

C14th, late C12th font