Current search

Filters

Total results: 71

Selworthy Farm, C19 Farmhouse and Farm Buildings

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farmhouse: Two storey house with rear wing. Small lean-to porch to east. Main roof is gable ended with internal axial stack and external axial stack to west; latter with top and bottom shoulders, both tiled. Roof covered plain clay tiles throughout, except where otherwise indicated. Collar...

PARKSIDE HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A county asylum built from Robert Griffiths designs in 1868-71. Built on the block system with linking corridors for 720 patients, the original buildings included a church, three lodges and a farm. Built of red brick in Italianate style. The superintendents house, Parkside Lodge and a gard...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

18th to 19th century farmhouse complex of up to 2 houses. Also granary, stable, cart shed and 2 loose boxes on the site.

HALL FARM

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Hall Farm includes; a late 19th century farmhouse; a five-bay barn with two transeptal entrances, framed and weatherboarded on a red brick plinth, with a tiled and gabled roof, probably an 18th century reconstruction of a former two storey barn of the 17th century; a red brick granary, of...

PEMBROKE FARMHOUSE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Pembroke Farm consists of a house of two storeys, with clunch walls, white brick dressings, slated hipped roof, and a group of outbuildings of mid 19th century date. The farmhouse was rebuilt between 1844 and 1853. It represents the medieval manor of Castle St. Martin.

FAIRY CROSS PLAIN

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Public house, formerly known as The Ship Inn, built in 1841-3, now a farmhouse. The site also includes a blacksmiths workshop, a stable, a cow house and a horse engine house, which are contemporary with the public house. A house was added in the second half of the 19th century.

GILL HEAD

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farmhouse with attached stable added in the late 18th-early 18th century and barn, cart shed/peat store added in 1847. Built of Yoredale sandstone with a stone slated roof. Probably a one-cell house extended to two-cells in the mid-late 17th century and altered in the mid 18th century. The...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Farm buildings of early C19 date.

Lower Beccott Farm, Arlington

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

16/17c farmstead of local stone with later alterations and additions, outbuildings include shippon, stable, bull pen and potato store. A 3 cell cross-passage house with thatched roof when built in the 16/17c, since then has been very much altered.The farmhouse is a T-shaped single pile, tw...

Coombeshead Farm, Arlington

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House and buildings of local stone and slate perfectly suited to their North Devon surroundings. House is 17c with 18c,19c and 20c extensions, set on the south facing slope near the head of the east-west running combe. A good example of a large North Devon stock and corn farming complex....