Current search

Filters

Total results: 1,532

TANNERS COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A medieval moated site known as Tanners Cottage. The moated site includes a kite shaped island which measures a maximum of 50 metres north east-south west by 52 metres north west-south east. The island is contained by a moat measuring a maximum of 1.5 metres in depth and 6 metres wide. The...

ALL SAINTS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The former parish church of West Beckham was pulled down in 1890 and its materials used to build the present parish church. The old church was of the Early English period and consisted of a nave, chancel and South porch. It had a round West tower until 1783 when it fell. The outline of the...

VINHAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Buildings shown on the tithe map of 1842. Field investigations in 1994, by Exeter Archaeological Unit identified an undulating area 28 metres north-south and 26 metres east-west. A well was indicated by a circular depression 2.80 metres in diameter and 0.40 metres deep.

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Whetley Mills, listed as two parallel blocks (5 storey to road, 6 storey to rear) with chimney between and office block and lodge to right of entrance at Whetley Mills (D Illingworth ans Sons Mills). Whetley Mills was built by the firm of Daniel Illingworth and Sons, the Illingworth family...

BANBURY AND CHELTENHAM DIRECT LINE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Disused Railway. What emerged finally as the Banbury and Cheltenham Direct Line was an amalgamation of 3 schemes built over the period 1855-87. The first scheme was the 4.5 mile of branch line built by the Oxford Worcester and Wolverhampton Company from its main line at Kingham East to Chi...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Ropewalk, recorded east of Calstock village in the 1880s. Survives as a 220m long trackway.

TREGANTLE MILITARY RAILWAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Remains of late 19th century military railway. Built between 1890-1893 by the Royal Engineers to serve Scraeson and Tregantle forts, but closed in 1904 and the track lifted in 1916.

ST MARY MAGDALENES CHAPEL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Also known as Maudlins Chapel, this stood about half a mile from Garway church, close to the right-hand side of the road. Little more than foundations remained in 1857. A drystone wall 10.0m long and 0.3m high possibly represents the remains of the chapel.

EYNSHAM HALL PARK

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Park enclosed in 1781 containing late C18 landscaping and mid 19th century gardens partly redesigned in early C20 by Thomas Garner. Includes designs by Robert Marnock, Owen Jones, James Mason and Ernest George.

THE PREBENDAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

In the 13th century, the Prebendal House consisted of a first-floor hall, of which the South and West walls form part of the present 14th-15th century building. The chapel on its undercroft, has interior detail of circa 1240 with a roof dated 14th century or later. It was pPartly rebuilt 1...