Current search

Filters

Total results: 343

WYNARDS ALMSHOUSES

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Wynards almshouses were converted into a fortified outwork of some importance during the Royalist siege, covering the line of the Magdalen Road, and overlooking the Shitbrook valley from the west. That Wynards was a defended site is known from documentary sources, which reveal that in Janu...

THE CITY WALL IN THE PM1 PERIOD

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The history of the defences in this period is summarised by transcripts from the city archives by Juddery, Staniforth and Stoyle, with historical introductions by Stoyle; three volumes cover the periods 1450-1570 (Juddery, Staniforth and Stoyle 1989), 1570-1600 (Juddery, Staniforth and Sto...

NO. 196 HIGH STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Sixteenth century building, with 17th and 18th century alterations and modern front, at the time of descriptions quoted below; demolished without record in 1973 (Thorp notes in EA archive). The property fronting onto High Street at No. 196 had annexed part of the adjacent No. 195, up to th...

BRADNINCH BATTERY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

An inventory of Parliamentary ordnance installed around the circuit of the city walls drawn up by the Royalists upon the surrender of the city to Prince Maurice in 1643 includes a reference to weaponry positioned: ‘On Brodnidge battery on the walles neere the Castle, 1 mynyon neere – 1124’...

CUSTOM HOUSE, THE QUAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Custom House was built by the city in 1680-81 to provide accommodation for the Customs on the Quay at Exeter, and also for the Wharfinger, the city official who collected city dues. The building is now one of the earliest surviving brick buildings in the city (although other, earlier,...

NO’S 3-7 NORTHERNHAY STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Terrace of ‘probably’ early 18th century houses; listed as follows: ‘List description - Probably early C18 houses with hipped gables. Later stucco and C19 sash windows. Nos. 4 to 7 have hoods on brackets to doors. 6-panel doors with rectangular lights over. No. 2 has 3 windows, the rest 2...

NO’S 111-113 FORE STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A short row of three houses, built c.1660-1700. The older house on the site (for which see Monument No. 11162) was largely demolished and the tenement subdivided into three smaller plots. Three small houses were then erected in the site; although of one build the three differ in plan and...

QUAY HOUSE, THE QUAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Quay House in its surviving form was built as a part of the same programme of improvements to the quay in 1680-81 as the Custom House, and the enlargement of the quay wharf area (see Monument No’s 11426 and 11428). This was originally a long structure ten bays long, of which seven bay...

CASTLE, REPAIRS AND UPGRADING

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

[Section Ext 4.7] (i) Coursed squared blocks of breccia (predominant) and a scattering of re-used volcanic trap and Triassic sandstone blocks. Straight joint where this work abuts 4.6 to south-east. The build incorporates some of the battered base below but the extent of this is obscured...

TRINITY CHURCHYARD ESTABLISHED IN SOUTHERNHAY, 1660S

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

In 1664 a new municipal graveyard was established at the south end of Southernhay, the burial ground at Bartholomew Yard (itself established in 1637 to ease pressure on the cemetery in the cathedral close: see Monument No. 11269) having quickly become full. It lasted until the facilities...