Current search

Filters

Total results: 4,612

Site of Blackley Hurst Colliery, off Garswood Road, Billinge (Chapel End)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former site of Blackley Hurst Colliery, off Garswood Road, Billinge (Chapel End). (1) Although no buildings or features are marked on the Tithe map of 1836, according to its apportionment, the name of Plot No. 385 was Coal Works. (2-3) A group of small, unlabelled buildings are shown on th...

Newstead Farmhouse with Attached Buildings, Liverpool

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

From the National Heritage List for England: SJ 4187 QUARRY STREET (west side) L25 43/938+1 Newstead Farmhouse with attached buildings 14.3.75 II House and outbuildings. Early C19. Stone with slate roof. Building round 3 sides of yard, with one wing facing street, street facade of 5 bays,...

Willow Cottage, Redhouse Lane, West Kirby

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Willow Cottage, Redhouse Lane, West Kirby, a mid 19th century house. Two storey cottage with small casements and sashes, slate roof, sandstone. There is also a small slate roofed sandstone shippon at the side of the cottage. (1) The house does not appear on the Tithe map of 1844. (2) It is...

Beech Mount, Beech Street, Liverpool

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

From the National Heritage List for England: SJ 3790 28/125 BEECH STREET (east side), L7 Nos. 1, 2, 3 and 4 Beech Mount. (Formerly listed as Nos. 1 to 4 Beech Mount (consec)) 14.3.75 G.V. II Terrace of 4 houses, dated 1861. Brick with stuccoed ground floor, slate roof.2 storeys, 3 bays to...

GARDEN AT 18 TO 26 HIGH STREET, PRESCOT

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

No Description

CLOCK TOWER TOXTETH PARK

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

1. SE. end of site of Toxteth Dock, N. of Harrison Way 2. Mc Carron, K. and Jarvis, A.1992 Give a Dock a Good Name? Birkenhead: NMGM and Countryside Limited pg. 88-89 Closed 1912 Rees, P. 1991(2nd ed.) A Guide for Merseysides Industrial Past Liverpool: The North Western Society for Industr...

DRAIN, LEEDS AND LIVERPOOL CANAL, MAGHULL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

No Description

Site of a 19th century quarry, Walker Street, Tranmere

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Former site of a 19th century quarry, Walker Street, Tranmere. (1) The quarry appears to be shown on the 25 OS drawing of 1836. (2) The Tithe map of 1843 records the quarry to the south of Walker Street as a rectangular cutting (No. 527a, a quarry owned by Henry Bushel Walker and Elizer An...

Former site of Liscard Hotel, Magazine Promenade

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The former site of Liscard Hotel, Magazine Promenade. (1-2) Ferry House is marked in this location on Bryants map of 1831. (3) Bennisons map of 1835 records it as a hotel owned by T. Davies. (4) The Tithe map of 1841 records it as No. 401, Liscard Hotel, owned by the assignees of John Davi...

Nos. 1 and 2 Mill Square, Bull Bridge Lane, Aintree

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Nos. 1 and 2 Mill Square, Bull Bridge Lane, Aintree. (1) The building is recorded on the Molyneux estate plan of Aintree of 1769, as No. 11, occupied by John Tyron. (2) From the National Heritage List for England: AINTREE MILL SQUARE SJ 39 NW (south side) 10/2 Nos. 1 and 2 G.V. II Farmhous...