Current search

Filters

Total results: 4,319

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

WHEAL BETSEY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Lead and copper mine, reopened in 1806, closed in 1877. The pumping engine house is preserved by the National Trust.

ST MARYS CHURCH

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A 12th to 14th century church with alterations in 1513 and 1876.

Minera quarry, brick building

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A building, constructed of brick with a flat roof. It is divided into 3 compartments, 2 of which have a single broad entrance on the southern side. They appear to have held machinery. The 3rd may have been an office. There is a small quarry located behind the building. The building is sho...

TANNERS COTTAGE

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A medieval moated site known as Tanners Cottage. The moated site includes a kite shaped island which measures a maximum of 50 metres north east-south west by 52 metres north west-south east. The island is contained by a moat measuring a maximum of 1.5 metres in depth and 6 metres wide. The...

No title

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Three storey 17th century building in Castle Street. It was refronted during the mid 18th century and is constructed of brick, stone and stucco with a tile roof. Some alterations took place during the 19th century.

Glyn Ceiriog council school

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Council school for Glyn Ceiriog which was built in 1894. It was extended in 1905 due to a rise in the number of pupils. A metal was given to all the pupils to commemorate this by Councillor A T Davies. The school was demolished in 1980 andreplaced with Ysgol Cynddelw (Jones, D P and Jones,...

ISLE OF WIGHT HOSPITAL

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

House of Industry (Incorporated Workhouse) built c.1775.

Building, Treveal, West Penwith Coast

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A ruined two roomed building sits snugly behind the pigsty (94257), sheltered by a major break in slope to its north. It is shown on the 1842 Tithe Map as a Barn and House (TA 1842) and was still roofed in 1876 (OS 20 map).The best preserved room is that to the west; it is small (4.1m EW x...

VINHAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Buildings shown on the tithe map of 1842. Field investigations in 1994, by Exeter Archaeological Unit identified an undulating area 28 metres north-south and 26 metres east-west. A well was indicated by a circular depression 2.80 metres in diameter and 0.40 metres deep.