Current search

Filters

Total results: 138

NO. 196 HIGH STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Sixteenth century building, with 17th and 18th century alterations and modern front, at the time of descriptions quoted below; demolished without record in 1973 (Thorp notes in EA archive). The property fronting onto High Street at No. 196 had annexed part of the adjacent No. 195, up to th...

NO’S 3-7 NORTHERNHAY STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Terrace of ‘probably’ early 18th century houses; listed as follows: ‘List description - Probably early C18 houses with hipped gables. Later stucco and C19 sash windows. Nos. 4 to 7 have hoods on brackets to doors. 6-panel doors with rectangular lights over. No. 2 has 3 windows, the rest 2...

NO’S 111-113 FORE STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A short row of three houses, built c.1660-1700. The older house on the site (for which see Monument No. 11162) was largely demolished and the tenement subdivided into three smaller plots. Three small houses were then erected in the site; although of one build the three differ in plan and...

QUAY HOUSE, THE QUAY

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The Quay House in its surviving form was built as a part of the same programme of improvements to the quay in 1680-81 as the Custom House, and the enlargement of the quay wharf area (see Monument No’s 11426 and 11428). This was originally a long structure ten bays long, of which seven bay...

NO. 150 FORE STREET (REAR OF)

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The late-17th century rear block of this building was recorded by K.A.Westcott in 1988; aside from a very brief report in a committee report of which the recognition event description (q.v.) is a verbatim description (EAAC 20.i.1989, 8), there is little in the way of synthesis of the obser...

EARLY 18TH CENTURY BRICK HOUSE AT NO. 102 FORE STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

The building has vanished, although there is a record of its appearance in a drawing dated 1879 published by Crocker (1886, Pl. 11). The frontage (at least) was of brick, with basket arched window heads (cf No. 40 High Street: Monument No. 11365). Described by Crocker as ‘a red brick hou...

17TH CENTURY HOUSES ON THE NORTH-WEST SIDE OF PAUL STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Paul Street contained some of the most interesting 17th century buildings in Exeter, until they were systematically demolished in the course of the early-mid 20th century. Old photographs are now the best source for the appearance of these buildings (RENN 1662-1671 incl.), from which it c...

NO. 38 BARTHOLOMEW STREET EAST

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

No details available other than the listing description, which describes the buildings as follows: ‘The back of this house is early C18 red brick, 6 windows, some altered. The front is early C19, stucco, 3 storeys, 3 windows. Rusticated ground floor with round-headed windows, glazing bars...

NO. 18 FRIERNHAY STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

Recorded by John Thorp in 1979, the archive note on this building dates it to the mid-late 18th century; it is thus marginal to this period, although it is included for completeness’ sake, and on the strength of one or two early-sounding features (such as an ‘eared’ fireplace surround in...

LATE 17TH CENTURY HOUSES ON THE SITE OF THE EYE HOSPITAL, MAGDALEN STREET

Type: Sites and monuments databases or inventories Publisher: Archaeology Data Service

A short terrace of three houses is attested by a sketch dated ‘about 1827’, and said to be ‘since demolished’ in the collections of the Exeter Pictorial Record Society (REN 1785). The site can be identified by comparison of Coldridge and the 1876 OS maps, and located immediately west of t...